Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Oh My Aching Hands! ~ 2006-12-19


I volunteered at HH today. I had switched my usual Monday for today so I could watch the horsey chiropractor work her magic, which was very interesting. I got there early for AM feeding, watched the vet for a little while then left to groom horses and do regular barn chores. Since there are no regular classes for a couple of weeks I am taking advantage of the opportunities to groom and bond.

I got to groom these two nuggets:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Then this one, a former Grand Prix dressage horse:


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

He is nearly 5 foot 8 inches at his withers (shoulders). That doesn't include his neck and head. I am approximately 5'1". Quite a stretch, let me tell you. My arms, hands and fingers hurt so bad. Using four different brushes and a hoof pick takes a toll when it's not something you do all the time. When I left HH driving was a real challenge and it took a few hours to get my hands to de-cramp. Wild, I hope they get stronger.

I spent forty minutes grooming, touching and sweet talking this handsome boy. He didn't mind it at all.

The last horse I groomed today was this boy, a Canadian Thoroughbred gelding:


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

He's 5 foot 5 inches at his withers but seemed taller (maybe I was just more tired). My arms feel like they have been stretched on a medieval torture machine! This boy gave me such a hard time when I was picking his hooves. A really hard time. We were eye to eye (he was bent down giving me sass, I think he was trying to bite me but I wasn't having any of it). I won but it was much harder on my back and biceps than it needed to be.

I was feeling all good about myself as I was walking toward the barn from the furthest paddock when all of a sudden I see the first tall boy COVERED in MUD! That rat had me groom, pet and rub his whole body only to roll around in the mud and dirt as soon as I walked away! Rat Fink. The barn manager laughed and said they do that all the time and to not be upset. I told her we'll just think of it as a spa treatment followed by a cardio workout in the gym. Totally worthwhile but needing another bath after the fact. I think she thinks I'm weird. Just wait until she really gets to know me.

I need to shower myself, after I soak my hands in warm water and Epson salts. Hubby is supposed to take the two of us out to dinner which will be nice because we've really haven't had any time to talk lately between family and friends being around all the time. Tis the season!






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15