Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Photo Stories and Hopefully Great Ending! ~ 2006-09-13


I had to laugh when Chaos left a comment about cats only loving us until we give them food. The kitties I'm taking care of this week were madly loving up on me as soon as I walked through the door. We had quite a lengthy conversation while I cleaned bowls and dished out rubs and new food. But sure enough as soon as I set that plate down...


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
If only I was chopped liver I would still hold some appeal.

And as soon as she finished eating ...


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I'm sorry about the angle but that's all I saw also.

That first kitty is Millie. This is Winkie, she is part Siamese, the vocal part! I have an extra special place in my heart for her for two reasons. We always had Tonkinese cats growing up, which are a cross between the Siamese and Burmese breeds. Very smart kitties. The second reason is Winkie's leg stripe.


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

It's not the best picture and I didn't want to dig too deep but Winkie's leg stripe reminds me of my Jax's stripe. (For those who don't know my boy passed on May 16, 2005.)


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Winkie didn't like the salmon wet food (and she's a cat?) so after Millie went outside (she won't let Winkie eat until she goes outside, nasty kitty) I scraped and washed the plate and gave her some chicken. Special treatment? Maybe just a little.


When I came downstairs to my office this morning I went through my normal routine: turn on the fish lights, turn on the lizards' lights and heat lamps, uncover the birds and put on their lights. Sometimes I don't actually look at each bird but this morning something drew my eye right in - a zebra finch on the bottom grating. Oh brother, what's wrong, I'm thinking. The zebra finches are getting old and they beat the crap out of each other so I know it's just a matter of time, but even I was surprised by this one:


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I don't know how well you can see this but it's Betty (of the adoption because she had a messed up beak and I knew she wouldn't last in the pet store community) and that reddish-orange thing sticking out of her neck? One of the male finches' three toes and part of his foot! Oh.my.word. (He is just fine, standing on a perch with his little skinny stick leg and a lump where his toes used to be attached.)

Trying not to stress her too much more I removed her from the community cage and placed her in my little hospital cage. She is having a hard time turning her head and is fumbling about a bit so I went outside to get a branchy-twig that is shaped like a "V" so she can get on from the flat bottom of the cage. I placed two plastic lids on the bottom so she didn't have to manage the bowls on the sides of the cage.

I cannot remove the toes, she is impossible to handle that closely and I'm afraid she would bleed to death if I pulled it out with tweezers. I am hoping her body will push it out. I do not see her lasting long if it remains the way it is.

I will never keep finches again, they are just so mean (or loving, depending which way you're looking at it) to each other. Ummm, sound a little like marriage to anyone else?


Things on the home front seem to be right back to normal. Hubby took me out to dinner last night with one of our friends and then we ran into a couple more who also had the privilege of witnessing my meltdown. No one said anything about it or acted any way other than they always have. I know it was noted but the guilt over my bad and mean behavior may have been more about my disappointment in myself and the hurt I inflicted upon my husband than what actually was seen. If that makes any sense at all. I'm still guilty but a bit smarter. Hopefully.

The night was spent talking about Harleys, Harley parts, Harley rides, Harley clothing ... I didn't participate much but I usually don't. I listen to what I want and then tune 'em out. Hubby appreciates my patience, it always scores me some brownie points. When everyone was leaving the mandatory gathering around the bikes to discuss things just one more time happened and it went on for quite a bit. Long enough for Hubby to walk over, hug, kiss me on my temple and say, "I love you." Phew. I may not have lost as much ground as I thought.

I needed the experience though. Sometimes I lose my bearings and become a little too personally cocky. I don't know if anyone in my every day life notices but internally I begin thinking I'm all that and a bag of chips. I start to get an edge and it's not a good thing. I like the sweet but strong Yvonne much better than the bitchy and mean one.

I may be all that but I have to remember my chips are a bit stale!


Update! Update! Update! Betty was so exhausted from trying to pull the lump out of her neck she kept falling asleep. I got my trusty tweezers and went to work. She let me manuever her around so I could get to the leg lump/toes. I was finally able to get a good enough hold and she panic-fluttered away from me as I pulled and it came out! She's eating like a mad birdie now and I hope she will make it.

Betty will now have her own little cage, formerly known as the hospital cage it will now be Betty's Pad! For someone who can't stand these little birds I sure was stressed about her.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15