Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Heavy, Lighter, Lightest ~ 2006-08-10


Thank goodness the British were on the ball! It horrifies me to think of how many innocent people could have died had this horrific plan been able to reach completion.

The world has too many evil people in it.


I have a question for you. Do you think selfish, self-centered people are happier and healthier than say someone who rarely asks for much? I am befuddled by this idea right now. As we spend more time out and about, observing from a more mature starting point compared to our before children social life, I am noticing both guys and girls who just EXPECT things to be done and given to them, usually get it.

I am sure these people aren't selfish 24/7 (although I happen to live with someone who almost meets that criteria). However, talking with these nice but selfish people I realize very few have physical or (obvious) emotional problems. It's like they're teflon to anything that doesn't meet their needs. Maybe it's the attitude of feeling like they are deserving of everything good. I don't know but I think I want some.

I do know there is a good and right balance in there. Where you take care of yourself and your needs without sacrificing the love and care you give to others. I feel good about how my heart directs my actions but I really need to learn better strategies for expecting better for myself. Rachel (my wonderful former therapist) was always on my back about that, okay, so not on my back - she encouraged me with her words: "Expect nothing, get nothing. Is that what you deserve?" Wise woman.


Amy tagged me the other day. I thought I had done this one before but couldn't find it, so here I go.

Four things you may not know about me...

Four jobs I have had in my life:
1. Lifeguard & Springboard Diving Coach
2. Arts & Crafts Director for Parks & Rec. Department
3. Commercial Artist (way before computer generated stuff)
4. Personal Wellness Trainer

Four movies I would watch over and over:
1. French Kiss
2. Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves
3. My Fair Lady
4. Beauty and the Beast (Disney and others)

Four places you have lived:
1. Bronx, NY
2. Manhattan, NY
3. Ledyard, CT
4. New London, CT

Four TV shows you love to watch:
1. Lost
2. Boston Legal
3. CSI(s)
4. Law & Order(s)

Four places you have been on vacation:
1. New Hampshire
2. Maine
3. Puerto Rico
4. Florida

Four of my favorite foods:
1. Homemade garden salads with real greens
2. Cut up fresh fruit
3. Homemade Bread (sadly, not allowed)
4. Ice Cream (should not but sometimes it's worth it)

Four songs that remind me of summer:
1.) Cruel Summer - Bananarama
2.) I Melt with You - Modern English
3.) Night Moves - Bob Seger
4.) Come on Eileen - Dexy's Midnight Runners

Four places I would rather be right now:
1. At the ocean, boogie boarding with my boys
2. Herding with my dog
3. Taking my walk in woods without a bazillion biting insects swarming
4. Riding my OWN Harley

Four readers of this journal who should do their own meme:
Anyone who hasn't but wants to!






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15