Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Staying Busy ~ 2007-01-13


Don't tell my husband but as much as he annoys the heck out of me, I miss his presence something fierce. I guess that's what happens when your spouse is also your best friend. He did call at 11:18 last night, when they landed in Florida. What a long day, he left here at 3:00 in the afternoon. I'll share a pathetic fact - I think that's the longest we've gone without talking in a very long time. He's a phone-monger and sometimes calls me ten times a day. I was waiting for the phone to ring.

Anyway. I spent the evening, by myself because the boys had plans, creating a core strength and stretching program which I need to present on Wednesday morning for the HH volunteer enrichment series. It's been a while since I taught and I'm a little slow on my ability to put in on paper. I had to begin with a fitness overview, of course. Then work into the specific area of the body's core, which is the trunk (front and back from the bottom of the neck to the top of the legs). I call it our natural girdle.

I did purchase a Bean to work into the presentation and because I wanted it for myself. I love the physio-ball (fitness ball) but for people who are balanced- or coordination-challenged, the very roundness that makes it a great tool also makes use difficult to use safely. The Bean should eliminate a lot of the legs and arms flying all all directions when the head is of course rolling straight for the floor scenarios.

I will be demonstrating exercises on the fitness ball, Bean, exercise mat, ab-roller, while sitting on a chair, while standing with feet planted and finally in fluid motion. I also bring other toys like medicine balls, elastic bands and tubing. You can never have too many books or toys!

I always worry I will not have enough material for time alloted and then when we get there ... it could be a six week course. Much better to be over-prepared rather than under!


I have to run to the store in a couple of minutes. I forgot that fancy blue painters' tape that you can put on the walls when painting the ceiling to get a perfect line and then it peels off with no problem. I want to grab two or three more plastic sheets to cover my furniture because I'm just shoving it to the center of the room. What was the other thing? Oh, I know, the guy forgot to give me a couple paint stirring sticks, gotta grab those.

Oldest Son is borrowing my car for an event in Mass. today. I could take his car but ... well, it's a 19 year old guy's car with 5,000,000,000 empty water bottles rolling around on the floor, dirty workout clothes lying on the back seat and mystery food substances rotting somewhere in there. I no-likey.


Looks like SoccerGirl has moved in for the weekend. I picked her up on Thursday afternoon and she'll probably just stay until school on Tuesday. Patty (my friend, her mom) doesn't have a place for her to stay and SG's dad is being a jerk. That's my cleaned up version. I don't know if she and Youngest Son will get back together but right now they are really good friends and the anger seems to have subsided. I know Patty feels good about her staying here, SG was hanging with a crowd who was destined for trouble. I told her I would kick butt and then inform her if there was any stupidity or drinking from SG. Let's hope I don't have to open a can of whup ass on anyone tonight after the huge party they are all going to 'cause you know, I will!


Added a little later.

Hubby just called (before his run, brunch and a noon tee time) to tell me when they walked into their hotel room last night there was a gigantous roach-like creature on the middle of the bedspread! MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! *cough* Have I ever mentioned how much my husband hates bugs, especially cootie bugs in hotel rooms?

I did sincerely wish him a good and fun day (especially since he had just brightened my evil spirit).






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15