Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Resolution Number One ~ 2006-12-30


Last night we watched an awesome blues band, Professor Harp. I really enjoyed them very much. Even Hubby, who has very self-limited musical tastes had a good time. Without him realizing I noticed, I caught him moving to the rhythm a few times! We only stayed for one set because I was so tired but if there had been room to dance I definitely would have found some energy and stayed all night.


There's been some slightly uncomfortable talk about gifts lately. Hubby took back the Christmas gifts and I haven't seen any replacement money which is disappointing because I did want to adopt a horse and take riding lessons. However, yesterday evening he started talking about looking for the correct flash for my good camera (which we've discussed a number of times over the last few years). There seemed to be a new intensity behind the talk and I took that as his desire to give me something I really needed (and wanted). He even brought a mention of my birthday into the discussion.

I started thinking he was finally realizing he had gone over the top this last year buying expensive goodies for himself and I had gotten very little outside of neglect and tag-along status. I was wrong. Through some verbal squirming on his part the truth came out, but at first I misunderstood.

Hubby: Ted called. He has booked a vacation on January 12th!

What I heard: Ted called. He has booked a vacation on January 12! Are you interested in going away with them (he and his wife)?

Starting to get excited, Yvonne: That could be a lot of fun!

Hubby: Yeah, I thought so too. I could use some time away.

What I thought: Oh no, too many I's in that last line. This is about him, not us.

Hubby: It's a golf vacation. It will be really great getting away with the guys.

Moment's Pause.

Hubby: If you don't mind.

Covering my disappointment as fast as I could, Yvonne: Of course not. You work hard all the time, you should do whatever you want. You should go.

I don't think he really bought my forced enthusiasm but it doesn't matter. He does deserve to go.

Yvonne's New Year's Resolution Number One: Stop making disappointments into Mini Bitter Pills to be slowly dissolved under my tongue so the taste remains for a really long time.

Yep, that's going to be a lengthy project.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15