Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Weekend Round-Up ~ 2006-10-16


The weather has really cooled down here in the northeast making it time for a template change with a bit of a fallish feel. I am definitely a summer weather sort of chick but I'm all about template changes too!


The seven pounds of roast are all gone. With a husband and two teenaged boys in the house it's one meal and just enough left overs to fight over. Lucky for Oldest Son, who was camping in Massachusetts for the weekend, I made a plate for him and guarded it with very scary mother-threats. They all gave me props, but it's the same recipe I use every time I make pot roast, it's the horseradish that makes it taste good to them.


I took everyone's advice and stopped feeding the neighbor's Koi. I don't know if the pool is deep enough to avoid completely freezing this winter but you know I'll be mentioning it to my new neighbor as soon as I see her again. Hopefully she won't think I'm too nosey and if she does, oh well.


I did my lappy-poohs this morning. I hated every moment of it as I do every day (whine, whine). It took me an additional five minutes to reach 2,100 yards but I did it. I think I'm going to have to get some toys - swimming gloves, flippers and maybe something else, if I have any hope of swimming for more than 45 minutes. It's just too boring. I start going so brain dead I find it hard to keep track of what lap I'm on. I'll have to cruise the web for toys after I finish here.


I'm a bit upset, okay I'm seeing red with the friend I skipped swimming for a couple Friday's ago. She confided in me up one side and down the other. Because it's her story I haven't even shared details with Hubby and I tell him just about everything. During our Friday discussion I, too, shared some things with her. I told her I didn't want anyone else (but Hubby) to know.

Yesterday we stopped at the local watch-Sunday-afternoon-football watering spot after cruising around on the Harley (checking out farms/pasture land). The entire group was there and it was immediately apparent "something" was going on. Through the next two hours I heard more than a couple references to this privately shared incident, although nothing was said directly to me or in front of me. All I needed was one concrete statement and I would have approached her there and then. I know it was the juicy story she just *had* to share as soon as everyone got back together again.

Why does this kind of betrayal shock me every time it happens? One thing is for sure, I will be speaking with this "friend" when the time is right and my temper has simmered down. How disappointing.

But what's more disappointing is that Hubby and I didn't find any appropriate land for me to keep and work sheep on. Which is actually more of a priority in my life than these people. Gotta have your list in order, you know?!

Off to eat a little lunch and continue with the weekend recovery chores.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15