Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Good Friday ~ 2006-10-13


I was swimming laps at 7:30 AM. It was torture but I met the 2,100 yard goal. So, yay me. I only went that early because I got to herd with Loch today and had to be there by 11:00. It's the second session in one week. And the second time we had a really, really good session. I am liking what I am seeing. I've been working on changing things around the house in the hope it would change things on the field and it seems to be working. Loch loves me, Loch adores me and like any typical man, Loch dismisses me when he doesn't feel like loving or adoring me. (I'm already married, why do I need this from another man?!) This is how he treats me on the field too, which is unacceptable. I am the giver of the sheep, which makes me that taker-away of the sheepies also. No more trotting off to drop a squirt of pee here and there, no more blowing me off when there's a fine female Border Collie within a half mile and no more him choosing when to pay attention to me and when not to.

The tables have turned. Beginning this past Tuesday, after herding, we have been spending time outside with lots of distractions and I have been "encouraging" him to always be aware of what I want. This morning we walked through the fields, toward the trainer and her earlier client. There were millions of places to squirt his boydog smell, there were two lady dogs on the field (one of which I found out was in full heat) and there were a couple of different flocks of sheep. Guess where Loch was? Right next to my left leg. When I stopped walking, he stopped, sat down and looked up at me. When I started walking and said "with me" he trotted right up next to my leg. If I didn't say "with me" he stayed right where he was, waiting on ME!

Now is that too much to ask from all the men in my life? Yeah, I know, but Hubby could step it up just a bit!

As I said, we had another good session. The trainer is really impressed and said she's never seen Loch work as well. It feels great. I know we will have our ups and downs, but I hope we can continue this way for the most part.

Afterwards I picked up Oldest Son at UCONN. I thought he looked like the cat who ate the canary before he got in the car, he was so excited. During his last class he got to meet Jim Calhoun, the men's basketball coach. He said Mr. Calhoun is very nice, very tall, was wearing the best sneakers and had the whitest teeth OS has ever seen. And he lives with me and my teeth are pretty darn white. Mr. C's must be almost glow-in-the-dark!

OS even got his autograph. Now OS is off to Massachusetts for a weekend of camping with his friends. I hope they don't freeze. Crazy young people. Give me my hot tub, hot shower and warm bed over that any day.


Hubby just got back from Boston. He had to look at a custom cabinet job and once again he said we should go there for a day or so because it's beautiful and so easily managed. I'd go tomorrow if he said so. I love the city. I especially like visiting the New England aquarium. Maybe during the winter when the Harleys are put away and we are back to being just two old boring folks.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15