Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Even A Minute With A Horse Is Better Than None ~ 2007-02-28


Today was a Horse Day! Oh, how I have missed those furry beasts. My first job was to retrieve one of my favorite big boys from the furthest paddock. I had to walk passed all the paddocks to get to the there and was greeted by every horse along the way. It didn't have anything to do with me, they were looking for their breakfast, but I acted like they were loving up on me. You can probably guess it's not very crowded in my fantasy world.

I have gotten a reputation at the barn ... as an excellent cleaner. Which is nice but now I get all the scrub-a-dub jobs instead of hands-on stuff with the horses. Last week I gathered, scrubbed, dried and rehung the stalls' 44 feed and water buckets. Today it was to scrub all the outdoor heated watering bowls and their metal covers. After I finished that I got to scrub all the outdoor feed bowls. I then cleaned the whole indoor sink and counter area followed by the outside of the washer and dryer (I was doing loads of towels while scrubbing being a multi-tasker and all). I finished my day by sweeping the entire tack room. I don't mind doing stuff to make the horses' quality of life spectacular but I do miss being able to get close up and personal at times other than the morning feeding. I'll see how it goes during the next couple of weeks and if nothing changes I'll speak to the barn manager about missing my horse bonding time.

I am learning patience in so many aspects of my life.


Today is Oldest Son's girlfriend, Blondie's, 18th birthday. She is such a sweet and level-headed young woman, he's lucky to have her in his life. They are having dinner out then going to her house for dessert and presents. He and I went halfsies on a gift card to a fancy spa. Hey, a girl only turns eighteen once!


Hubby has a head cold that causes ugly, loud snoring. Last night I gave up trying to sleep in the same (warm) bed and sought out the guests' airmattress that was thankfully empty last night. It needed air but I didn't know how to use the pump. My back and hip are so sore today. I was also freezing without my electric blanket. (I know, Boxx, they're naughty but it's the only way to keep my extremity circulation humming during the winter.)

Hubby woke up to lift this morning at 5:15 and was actually annoyed at me for leaving the bed. He's willing to sleep elsewhere but he is the one who needs to rest to get over this sickness and be well enough to work all day. Besides, I love taking an afternoon nap with my pooches (and it's nice to have a legitimate reason to do so)!






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15