Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

A Nap Would Be So Nice ~ 2007-01-29


As with every tragedy, those affected are walking around in a state of shock. Death is hard to comprehend when it comes to the elderly but when it's a child or young adult the question of why is asked time and time again.

Youngest Son is doing alright. He was a fellow athlete of Cam, the boy who passed. SoccerGirl was closer to him making it a little more personal for her. Patty, SG's mom, is having a hard time of it also because she knows the family and has worked with the mom for years. Oldest Son is friends with Cam's older brother and sister so he is affected also. It's amazing how quickly the world becomes a small place when something sad happens.

I hope the truth will be revealed and pray it will not injure those hurting already.


Stepping back to a much lighter time - this past Saturday's wedding reception was fun. We were woefully underdressed. We never expected this particular couple to host an event that was completely formal. Most of the ladies were wearing floor length gowns! Oh well, our $$$ gift will spend as well as the next couple's.

It was nice to see certain people we haven't in a few months.


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
See how nicely dressed they are!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
The girl on the left was beautiful under about ten pounds of makeup.
Girl - you're young, let your skin b-r-e-a-t-h-e!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
And then there was the casual couple. I was sad to miss the opportunity
to really dress up, it doesn't happen very often.

Looking at this picture I've realized I have to start sitting behind Hubby for photographs. I sit up straight and he leans back making me look enormous. That has to change!



Working with the horses was very, very cold today. There were moments my butt was so frozen if I had a knife I would have shaved a few inches off knowing I wouldn't feel it until later!

My good moment came today was when one of the seasoned rider/volunteers was getting ready for her riding class and she couldn't get her horse to lift his hoof to be picked. I was grooming another horse but suggested a stretch in case he was tight. She did it, although she was nervous doing it and stood far away reducing the benefits of the movement.

She then tried to lift his foot again and the horse continued being his stubborn self (which always cracks me up, I love fiesty beasties). I asked her if I could try, she said, "Oh, do you think *you* can do it?" (There's a little class thing happening at the facility. These women don't know my social/economic status but they assume I'm nothing special because I choose to work the barn. With some it causes them to think they know more than me.)

Anyway, I walked over, said hey to the horse, slid my hand from his neck, over his shoulder, down the back of his leg and said, "lift." And he did. Just like that, smooth as silk. I picked his hoof, put his foot down and thanked him. She asked if I could do it again, like she thought it was a fluke. So, I did. She was a little humbled and asked to try it. She did and he didn't. I coached her, she did it her way again despite the words I had just sent out into space and he subbornly would not lift. She tried my way and zip - right up came his leg! I may be willing to muck manure but it doesn't mean I don't know the producers of that poop. Thank you for making my day, rich lady! :-)


Oh no.


The kids will be home from school soon. I hope they are okay. There were grief counselors on hand all day. Youngest Son called half way through the day to say it was hard but he and SG were "okay." We'll see when they get home.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15