Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Weird Thursday ~ 2007-01-26


Yesterday was a day of weird timing. I left to go shopping, decided my car's back window was disgustingly dirty and with only 3/4 of a tank of gas, I might as well stop for a fill- and clean-up. Wasn't a must but what the heck? Got to the station and an little, older lady was having a hard time with her pump so I helped her - nothing big, just pushed that little tabby-thing down so she didn't have to stand out in the cold. She smiled and thanked me. I cleaned my window, finished with the gas and drove down the road to K*hls.

As I was walking into the store my cell phone rang. It was Hubby asking if I'd like to meet him for lunch. Now this might not seem out of the ordinary but, on a work day, it is very unusual. And he's been kind of distancing himself "to make me more independent" (from him). I've been cooperating and distancing myself (in a healthy manner - marriage relationship management and all that), not bothering him with phone calls or asking what we're going to do as soon as he walks in after work, blah, blah, blah. Anyway, for him to seek me out for a lunch date was a very good thing and set a nice tone for my shopping time.

As I was walking out of the store Hubby called back to say let's meet in ten minutes. I clicked off my cell as a rickety old van pulled up along side of me. My heart gave a little squeeze because it felt like a bad situation but then I looked the driver right in the face as he told me his story and stopped worrying. He told me his brother-in-law had taken his car in the morning and left this van with very little gas. He had a doctor's appointment nearby concerning another stroke he had in the fall but lived sixty miles away and had used all the gas to get here. He didn't have cash to put more gas into the van. He had told me he was a Vietnam Vet as he was shaking like mad from stroke damage and I'm sure a lot of anxiety. He looked me right in the eye the entire time and I am positive he was being honest with his story. He asked if he could borrow enough for three gallons of gas, just enough to get back home. I gave him the cash I had in my wallet and he tried to give some back and wanted to know how he could send money back to me. I told him it was unnecessary and to just drive carefully. He started to cry as he drove away.

As the van moved away someone said, "hey!" It was Oldest Son! He should have been miles away at college but his lecture had been postponed and he had decided to shop for some work pants. He had watched the whole interaction (with much distress that his mother was so close to a spooky van) and was happy I was safe, glad I gave the guy some money and was even happier when I asked if he wanted to go with me to have lunch with Daddy because he was feeling a little low.

Weird timing, huh?

Hubby was surprised but pleased OS could have lunch with us. It was also good because it gave the lunch a different vibe. As if *I* didn't have to have Hubby's attention all to myself. Another good development. Neither OS nor I mentioned anything about the van-man.

After we finished lunch I went to the Harley shop. Hubby had done some shopping there and said I should go because they were having quite a clearance sale. Okay, I'm up to spend a little more money.

Marie, the regular sales woman, greeted me as I walked through the door with, "Oh good! I need your help!" I spent the next three hours helping sort, mark-down and organize merchandise. I hope it doesn't sound conceited but I did do a pretty good job creating appealing displays. I even ended up buying a few things. A number of times Marie said, "I just prayed for help because I knew I couldn't do this myself and you walked through the door."

It was like someone else was in charge of my day yesterday and I was just there to do a kind turn.

What a nice day. And I didn't feel it necessary to tell Hubby about the details. This may be the independence he wants me to exhibit.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15