Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Hello 2007 ~ 2007-01-01


Our goodbye to 2006 celebration was fun. We made a lot of new friends and danced the night away. I only brought out my camera once because it was so jam packed at the club there was no way to step away from your subjects without someone stepping into the vacated spot!

Here I am with SoccerGirl's mom, Patty. We stopped at the grill to say happy new year to her because she had to work. We've become quite close now that the kids have truly broken up.


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Unfortunately, this was a moment after I realized she was upset and needed to talk. Smile pretty, girls, Hubby said.

After that visit we all headed over to the "German" club. Fire code allowed for 300 people but I think they meant 150 upstairs (without a stage taking up 1/3 of the room) and 150 downstairs in the pool table/smoking lounge. Not many people used the downstairs. There were times the whole upstairs floor was bouncing with all the dancing. You could not have paid me to hang out in that basement. Oldest Son picked us up at 1:30. I finally crawled into bed around 2:15 after the dogs and other animals were put to bed.

It felt like no sooner did my head hit my pillow and the pooches were calling out at their usually 5:30 AM. I wanted to let Hubby sleep so I got up with them. They're so funny, they howl like they are dying, they go out, do their business and then come back in to fall asleep on the rug and couch. That's it. Five minutes and they're already napping again. I laid on the couch, read my book and watched the news. I did take advantage of a rainy, grey afternoon with a little nap. Poor Hubby had to work. One of his woodworking shop contractors did not come through like he was supposed to on a project that is due at the clients' tomorrow. Hubby is not a happy camper but I'm not taking it personally, which is actually one of my resolutions/goals for the coming year.

I have three personal goals:

1. Stop thinking everyone's bad mood is my fault and I am not responsible for making "it" right. This will not make me an uncaring person, just a little less frantic.

2. I previously shared this one: Stop making disappointments into Mini Bitter Pills to be slowly dissolved under my tongue so the taste remains for a really long time.

3. I am going to expect more, not less. A little selfishness does not have to be a bad thing.

It's going to be really hard giving up my martyr status, (even if it only exists in my head), but I'm going to give it my best shot!






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15