Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

The Friday After ~ 2006-11-24


We made it to the day after Thanksgiving, thank goodness! If I had to grade yesterday's gathering I would give it a B, which is pretty darn good considering there were 26 people there and it was pouring rain outside. Everyone was everyone else's way but everything eventually worked out.

Hubby had purchased a 26 pound free range turkey (at FOUR DOLLARS a pound!), I brought two plates of homemade cookies and everyone else brought a little of this and a little of that. We were concerned there wouldn't be enough turkey after we got there and realized so many people had been invited. Hubby reminded my mother-in-law all the kids are now full-sized adults who actually eat more than the older adults. She hadn't thought about it that way. Perhaps next year we will cook two turkeys but someone else can buy the second.

The In-Laws always invite the pastor and his family from their church. That church used to be our church until we couldn't take the politics and gossip any longer. Since we've left the pastor has been extraordinarily snippy toward us. Hubby had actually stopped attending a year before I did, he couldn't stand this guy and his preaching style. I tolerated it as long as I could because I was working with the teens. Now it seems it is his mission to needle us with little heathen comments. Grow up I say. He did say a few things but mainly just sulked over on the other side of the room which as any teenager knows doesn't do a darn thing to a (real) adult.

Pervert brother-in-law was there too. He must have been feeling like he was going to have the upperhad because he tried to get to me as soon as we got there. We had to come in from the downstairs and walk one flight of stairs to the landing and then up another flight to get to the living room/kitchen (typical raised ranch). We walked in and he was standing on the landing. Hubby said, "come down," since PBIL was already half way to his destination. He said, "no, come up." He is a bully in all those underhanded but typical bully-ways. Hubby just trudged right up there and I followed. As we were walking by he moved forward and was just bearly not touching me. He said, "happy Thanksgiving, (Hubby's name)," and then "and to you too." Hubby said "happy Thanksgiving" but I kept walking, kept my head up with a disgusted look on my face which let him know to keep his distance for the rest of the day. I feel slightly petty when I feel like Hubby should tell him off if he is going to say anything at all to him. One of the reasons I picked Hubby was because he is completely different from my father but a little of that kickyourasswhileshovingashotguninyourface would be nice considering what this creep did to me. Alas, it is my battle and we all know we have to fight our own battles.

After settling PBIL in his proper place of non-humanhood and ignoring SulkingPastor it was a good day. When I had enough of the adult talk I went in search of my ... I don't know what he would be ... Hubby's first cousin's little four year old. I'll just call him our cousin. He is a typical four year old except, before recently moving here, his paternal grandmother watched him while the cousin worked and he is spoiled ROTTEN. And he's rocking the only child thing too!

I found him downstairs and we sat down on the rug to play with dinosaurs, toys and stickers. He started putting the stickers on me, which was okay but then he needed to push the limit and smacked one on my forehead. He made contact but I caught his little wrist before he had a chance to move. I said, "that is not how we touch other people." I helped him remove the sticker and then gently put it back on my forehead. Then I told him thank you for being so gentle. He didn't quite know how to take me but he decided I was okay. We had a couple other "whoa, time-out" moments but he always regrouped quite well. He's a good kid, he's just been allowed to be mean and bossy. Bossy is a two way street but mean doesn't float with me. He must have liked me though because I got a bright "see ya!" when we were leaving.

Hubby and I came home to have a quiet early evening and then a gigantic blow-out fight. Some of my issues are festering right under the surface and I wish I could say these discussions are as big as the explosions are going to get but I think I'd be lying to myself.

I am in the right but my delivery leaves a lot to be desired. It's like Niki on Heroes with the evil personality who takes care of all the dirty work. Yep, I got one of those chicks in me too. I need to integrate and think about my flow of words instead of just letting them build until it's a tidal wave of ugliness. Sigh. Maturity vibes needed and much appreciated.

Completely off subject: I have iTunes and I can't get my play lists to play songs continuously. I have to click each song individually. I've gone through all the options at the top of the screen and cannot figure out why it stops after each song. Any ideas?






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15