Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Horses Who Heal Hearts ~ 2007-05-31


I worked at the barn today. My co-worker, whom I like yet need to call Ms. Micromanager, was not there which created a very nice and relaxed atmosphere. We are between sessions so there is lots of time to do the chores that don't need to be rushed. I felt like I had the horses to myself for most of the day. Nice.

As I shared yesterday in my private journal, one of our older horses crossed The Rainbow Bridge on Tuesday morning. I am deeply saddened by Domino's passing but honestly, he was in pain and it was time. The vet assisted him and he had lots of loving companions with him during his time. I have no regrets concerning my last time seeing him, thank goodness. He had recently retired from classes but still remained with us and his horse companions. He really was a low maintenance and sweet, gentle boy. Every time I had to go near his paddock I always went in for a touch and quiet word. I had deep regrets when my Border Collie, Jax, died because I feel like I failed him in so many ways. Thankfully I am not experiences the same feelings with Domino.

His body is still on the grounds and I said goodbye to him even though I know his spirit is running through painfree, spiritual fields now. This, too, was good for my heart.

Even though moments were sad, my day was filled with love. I got to have a good feeding time with all the horses, bring some into the barn and back out after they were finished with their lessons. I had my buddy time with Nifty, including a perfect and long bath which ended with him rolling in his paddock's best dirt pit as soon as I took off his halter! (Couldn't smell like a girlie-horse around the guys and all.) AND I got a private riding lesson with one of the instructors today! She had lots of compliments for me especially since I am such a novice. I am going to take another class later in the month.

I don't have a burning desire to ride but it would be nice to know how. I prefer my hands-on approach to bonding. I could definitely have horses as pets without riding benefits. Won't Hubby just love that ... "But Dear, just think of him as a really big dog!"






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15