Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

A Moment Before I Crash ~ 2007-04-12


Yesterday's herding lesson was great. Tuckered me and Loch right out. Today's barn work was so much fun with the wind whipping the rain into everyone's face and down their necks.

I always wondered how horses coped with wet, windy weather. Now I know:

1. They don't want to come out from under their open sheds and stand like they have four cement feet,
2. they do everything they can to NOT allow the short girl to get the halter over their heads (giggling the whole time, I'm sure),
3. they take advantage of said short girl's inability to see all around her rain jacket's hood to direct us through every ankle to knee deep puddle in the paddock
and finally,
4. as soon as there was mud underfoot they decided it's time to trot.

And you know what? I LOVED every moment!

If any human was around they probably thought I'd fallen and bumped my head. We (me and the horses) were lightheartedly zipping through the rain and I was singing to them ... "singing in the rain" of course. I wasn't cold until I got in the car to come home. Then, brrr, brrr, brrr, waaaa.

I have to rest a little while then shower. We have a date with two or three other couples this evening for dinner. I am appreciating this new balance of friendships especially since it doesn't include a certain somebody who may or may not covet my cushy life.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15