Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Just Call Us Team Herd ~ 2006-05-27


Yesterday Loch and I participated in our second sheep herding trial. We scored exactly one point better than we did in our first. Now that's progress!

Actually, we did so well. The judge said our score did not reflect what happened in the field. There's always something freaky that happens when you're moving sheep around: different pressures, a stray dog shoots out there, someone shake the feed can and one of the ewes bolts down the field oblivious to anything but the grain in that can ... which is what the judge said happened to us (I never heard a thing but the ewe sure did!).

We had earned our points for the outrun (20/20), the lift (8/10 - the sheep went offline for a moment) and the fetch (16/20 - one of the sheep did not go through the fetch panels, rotten girl). We were on our way to a really good score as I was wearing (leading the sheep) down to and around the drive panels when suddenly Ms. Thang takes off like someone stuck a hot poker on her fanny!

I didn't panic, (because what's there to panic about? - this is supposed to be fun). I sent Loch knowing even though she had quite a head start my boy can fly! Sure enough the ewe ran all the way to the holding pen (where the fresh sheep are held) and straight to the goober with the jiggling grain coffee can. Loch was wonderful, he scooped her right off the fence and drove her straight back to the others. Unfortunately this incident rattled the sheep a bit and they gave me a hard time at the pen. I lost all possible pen points, but we had to work really hard there. I did a lot of handling and Loch did a lot of controlling and settling of the sheep. We did well.

We received a few compliments on how nicely Loch handles his sheep and how well I handle Loch. It would seem Loch makes people a little nervous because he's so big. Once it was seen how well he handles the sheep with no buzzing, gripping (biting) or bullying, the opinions began to change. Little do they know he is the biggest softie I've ever encountered and puppies catch his eye as much as sheep do - he just loves them! Word started to get out I have only been handling since January (so I'm a newbie or novice in official terms which, strangly enough, explains why we're in the novice class)!

At this trial they were able to offer noncompete runs. These runs get scored but there's no ribbons. I decided to do the pronovice course. It's about the same as novice only the handler doesn't leave the post (to wear the sheep - which is supposed to be easier, but I feel like it breaks our flow). Instead the dog drives those girlies down the field, through the drive panels and up to the pen where the handler is waiting with an open gate and a smile.

We were the last team to go in the pronovice non-competes. We got some fiesty sheep. These are the ewes who were crafty enough not to get rounded up and shoved out onto the field before all the others had been. We even got a stomper. I LOVE that, although I know it's supposed to intimate me and Loch. It makes me laugh and say, "get along with your bad self" every time it happens.

Really, I do try to take this stuff seriously!

So our stomper was an independent thinker also. Don't let anyone tell you sheep are stupid. Remember that scene in Jurassic Park when the raptors are systematically checking the electrical fence for weaknesses? Yeah, that kind of shifty smartie pants, those sheepies are.

Our stomper bolted, she turned her head, she tried to ignore us and she stomped and stomped and stomped. By the time we were finished she had stomped at Loch (who wasn't buying what she was selling), she stomped at me and finally she stomped at the judge who was on the field with all of us.

I "handled" more yesterday than I have ever had to. I had to think without consulting anyone else, I had to read the sheep (their body language), I allowed Loch to do what he does best and asked a little more of him - which he delivered like the awesome pooch he is, and we never panic, nor did we panic the sheep.

We gained some respect from the other handlers yesterday (which is way more important to me than my score). We received more compliments on Loch's handling of the sheep, my handling of him and the surprise situations. I was told I definitely didn't act like I had only just started doing this and that I am a "natural handler." Wow. I've said and I'll say it again, it has so much to do with Loch. He is my perfect starting out dog. I also think it helps quite a bit that I have absolutely no fear of the sheep (as some handlers do). Some sheep breeds are quite large and pushy. There are many reports of broken feet, ankles and legs. Even sadly, broken necks and backs. When those animals are panicked they run madly and if you are in their way you may end up in the air or flat on the ground. I don't fear them, but I certainly respect them.

Another great thing - because I was the last to run I got to drive my sheep to the exhaust pen and then let Loch in there to gather and push them up the hill, through the chute toward me, out into the field and down to the holding pen for the next class! There were probably fifty sheep and we did it really well. My trainer was very pleased with me (because I had the balls to do it) and I think I surprised a few people. Loch looked so good moving all those woolies. He's the natural.

So yesterday was huge fun and a great success. I enjoyed watching the sheep, the other dogs and the people. I did not take my digital camera because it takes away from my learning experience but my friend, Anne, video taped our runs. I will review it later today. Hopefully I'll feel as good after the viewing ... I'll just chant "the camera adds ten pounds, the camera adds ten pounds, oh no! the camera adds thirty pounds, the camera adds thirty pounds!" I'm just joking, Loch is not self-conscious about his weight! LOL!

Oh, did I mention I had Loch's portrait tattooed on my foot? :-)

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
During last week's practice.





Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15