Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Eventful Days ~ 2007-04-23


This weather has been ROCKIN'! Our weekend was completely filled with fun, drama, pictures, parties and more fun. I was a chick magnet ... but maybe that's a subject for the other diary! ;) Unfortunately last night ended sadly for Oldest Son. He and his girlfriend, Blondie, broke up and it may be for good. Then, on his way home from her house he hit a deer. Sob.

My cell rang just as I was finished washing up for bed. I looked at caller ID dreading it would be the friend who is not really a friend but is making me feel guilty for not being the friend I should be (follow that?). I grabbed it when I saw it was OS. He was crying and was pressed to get "Mom" out. I was instantly in motion, throwing on my sneakers and glasses. I said, "are you ok?" He said, "yes, let me call you right back." A minute or so later he did. He had dialed my number right from the accident scene in the middle of the road. He got his head together enough to drive down to the dog park parking lot that's when he was able to tell me what happened. I said we'd be right there and to call the police. I didn't know how to handle it but I was afraid the poor animal was suffering. It wasn't, which I know in my head is a good thing but I was really hoping it got away without injury.

Physically OS was not hurt and his car only has a dent in the hood. I know it could have been much, much worse and I am so thankful it wasn't but he was so sad over the deer and the breakup I wanted to just stand there a weep for him.

The police officer was really kind. He looked so young I doubt he's even shaving yet but was really patient with OS and the fact "we" hadn't put an updated insurance card in the car. He promised he would take care of the deer and reassured OS it definitely wasn't his fault. Very kind.

I rode with him on the way home. We talked about the accident and the breakup then he went to his room for the night and later I heard him crying. I would do anything to take the pain away. Any mama would I'm sure but hearing him just made me physically hurt. My poor man/child.

I went to the grocery store first thing this morning and bought him a Mounds candy bar. It's kind of silly and a shallow thing but he loves them and he's at the age when a cuddle and kiss on the forehead would not be allowed. I woke him for school and put the candy on his desk. He quietly thanked me out his way out. He is a bit of a sad-sack to begin with, then add something as sad as these events and holy crow, that boy gives Eeyore a run for his money.

He went to his local classes and then he's heading up to the main college campus to hang out with friends and spend the night. I'm glad he is seeking out people instead of going in his room to just draw, read and veg. He is not chemically depressed, although I have always watched for that, but he does crawl into himself easily so this turn of events is welcomed.


I've spent the day cleaning with all the windows open. Too bad there's yucky weather right around the corner. Oh well, that's Spring for you.






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15