Daily Clicks
The Animal Rescue Site

Free Mammograms


Navigate
Previous/ Next/Today
Archives
Profile

Diaryland Favorites


Communicate
Notes / E-Mail

Contact Me HERE For Locked Diary Info


Design Snippets:
The Former Moviegrrl
Photograph:
Sand Dune Walkway
by Yvonne
Host:
Diaryland

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com



Forty-Plus ~ The Truth Serum Decade

Photobucket

Breakfast: Diet Pepsi and Ibuprofen ~ 2007-03-13


I was and still am wiped out from working at the barn yesterday. I started before 8:00 AM and finished after 3:00 PM. If I was in good health and as strong as I used to be I'm sure it would be absolutely nothing. Unfortunately, that's not where I am right now but I keep chugging along as if the old Yvonne still existed. Stinkin' pride. :D

Mucking, sweeping, shoveling, grooming and even dropping (haulin') hay was completed. I have no flexibility in my middle back today. I am VERY careful about my lower back, now that I've overcome a decade of constant pain there I protect it with every movement I make. It's around my ribs that feels like a steel girdle. Those wrapping/twisting muscles are locked in place today - even breathing causes notable pain. BUT, the whole day was worth it. I learned even more about horse behavior, barn management and human relations.

I enjoyed some new bonding with the horses. With their coats starting to blow (in preparation for the warmer season - and all my angels sing hallelujah), their skin is very sensitive and they just love when I scratch their entire faces with my nail tips. I use circular motions, while standing directly in front of them, speaking in a low voice. Usually a person shouldn't stand directly in front of a horse's head, they can lift and really smack the crap out of you, but once they are all relaxed from their grooming we usually have a quiet little zen thing happening and they are open to this experience. Ommmmmmm. I love when they do the slow blink - they know they should stay awake but it just feels so good. Kind of like that afternoon nap time when the dishes should be getting washed but the sunspot on the couch is just so inviting...

I'm going to look into rearranging my work schedule. Right now I work on Mondays and Wednesdays and I'm scheduled to work from 8:00 to 10:00 AM. Between the fact I never seem to leave on time and the rising cost of gasoline, I am going to look into changing my schedule to just Thursdays. I would just plan to work from 8:00 AM to 3:00 or 4:00 PM, then I would have plenty of time to physically recover before the next scheduled day. I will have to check with the barn manager and the volunteer coordinator to see if this can be arranged.


We did ride the Harley on Sunday. It was cold but lovely. We rode with another five or six bikes and it was fun. Hubby's done all kinds of modifications to the new bike and it's really nice.

We (HE) enjoyed all the compliments (the Harley community is huge on checking out and complimenting each others' bikes) until we ran into one of our friends who had worked really hard, with limited funds, to change up his bike. His work was top notch but it's a totally different look than Hubby's flash which caused a lot of ohs and ahs while our friend received the not as exciting "nice job" comments. We could see our friend's disappointment. Hubby even felt bad so you know it HAD to be OBVIOUS. Hubby probably would have interested in the changes anyway but he took seemed to take extra time for our friend to explain everything he had done and how it was done. I think it made our friend feel a little better but it must have felt a little like being the cute sister of the beauty queen/rocket scientist/nobel peace prize winner. *snort*


As much as I'd rather stay home today I think I have to go shopping with Patty for a little black dress, but that discussion will be for an entry over there at the private diary.

I'll just get going now so I can accomplish my household responsibilities as well as fulfill my sucker friendship duties!






Last 5 Updates
Something Old, Something New - 2009-08-10
Boom, Boom, Boom - 2009-06-20
Pets, Pests and Peeps - 2009-06-17
What Has Been Happening With You? - 2009-06-15
What - 2009-06-15